Young musicians to perform free Spring Concert today

CEDAR CITY–Exceptional young musicians touring southern Utah will make an appearance in Cedar City on Saturday, April 14, at 4 p.m. in St. Jude’s Episcopal Church, 70 N. 200 West.  The public is invited to this free public concert. Young Artist Chamber Players join with Suzuki Strings in performing music ranging from Copland to Paganini, and fiddling.


The Young Artist Chamber Players are directed by Jack Ashton, known as “Utah’s Music Man” for his exceptional teaching and performing career. In addition to playing year-round in the Utah Symphony, he taught orchestra part-time for 35 years at Olympus High, his alma mater, and for the past 31 years he’s been director of the Young Artist Chamber Players, an organization he set up with his brother Ted in 1985 for the purpose of “helping good kids play the hard stuff and get better.”


The elite string orchestra includes about 40 players who are accepted after auditions (another 80 young violinists make up three additional orchestras sponsored by the organization). They meet at Highland High School once a week, honing their skills under the direction of the man who performed with the symphony for nearly a half-century.


“Since his retirement from the Utah Symphony, Mr. Ashton has continued the YACP program and it is a highlight of our spring to join with his students making music,” said Sara Penny, Suzuki Strings Director.


YACP Selections include:

The Red Pony by Aaron Copland

Moto Perpetuo by Niccolo Paganini, Cameron Jeppson, Soloist

Violin Concerto in C by Joseph Haydn, Brooklyn Fagergren, Soloist

String Quartet No. 8 for String Orchestra by Dmitri Shostakovich


Suzuki Strings Selections:

Boil the Cabbage, arr. Hall

Hunter’s Chorus by Weber

Concerto No. 2, 3rd mvt. by Seitz


Suzuki Strings students from southern Utah will join the YACP for three dances from Capriol Suite by Peter Warlock.  The Suzuki Strings orchestra has been prepared by Lindsay Szczesny.



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.