Volunteer committee members reflect on Tour of Utah

By Kelsey Keener


CEDAR CITY–Members of the Local Organizing Committee addressed the Cedar City Council during last week’s meeting to discuss the events of the Tour of Utah.

Director of Events and Chair of the LOC Bryan Dangerfield introduced the members who could be at the meeting and recognized those who could not attend. Economic Development Director and LOC Director of Ancillary Events Danny Stewart said collaboration between organizations was a key factor for Start and Finish of Stage 1 going smoothly.

“We had a great committee and great people and I think it was really wonderful to work together with the Utah Shakespeare Festival, the Southern Utah Museum of Art and the university to utilize all that space and to welcome our visitors up into all those spaces,” Stewart said.

Director of Marketing for SUU and the LOC Nikki Koontz said this year’s race topped other times Tour of Utah has come to Cedar City.

“I love when the Tour of Utah comes to town,” she said. “I’ve been a part of it for the last four different races that they’ve been here, and I think this one by far was the best one, most well attended, lots of different support from the city.”

LOC Director of School Outreach Roni Laub said the goal of school outreach was to get kids involved in the kids’ race before the professional race and she enjoyed being able to have T.J. Eisenhart talk to elementary school kids about cycling.

“(Eisenhart) came and went to five of the schools with us and did kind of a motivational speech and talked to the kids, got them excited … and also talked about his love for cycling and encouraged these kids to go out and do what they love,” she said. “That was a great way to help advertise to get the kids excited to come out and bring their bikes. We were excited about (Eisenhart) and to see how many kids came out.”

Dangerfield also expressed his appreciation for all members and committees of the LOC.

“It is hard to describe how gratifying it is to see so many people join together to passionately volunteer for Cedar City’s contribution to the Tour of Utah,” he said. “For some it was their first experience, and for others, it was their fourth time being a part of the event in Cedar City working with the Tour of Utah staff.  For all, it was exciting, exhausting, fun and many friendships were formed that brought a diverse group of people together to benefit their community. It was a phenomenal effort by the LOC and subcommittees and the 333 other race day volunteers who made Tour of Utah Stage 1 a great event.”


Emilee Ballard served as vice-chair of the LOC, and other team directors were Maria Twitchell (Lodging), Jessica Burr (Volunteers), Jason Ramirez (Technical Route), Clayton Cheney (Logistics), Todd Hess (Media Relations), Will Arcularius (Awards), Jerry Womack (Public Safety), Neal Smith (Hospitality) and Tyler Morgan (Team Presentation).

The LOC also included several sub-committees made of up volunteers whom Dangerfield also recognized.  

“The LOC sub-committees are made up of distinguished community volunteers, Cedar City and Southern Utah University staff with expertise and passion for cycling, who work with Tour of Utah and Medalist Sports Staff to ensure smooth operations in the Athlete Village (team housing, food), public safety (security, traffic management), technical route, logistics, operations, ancillary events (team presentation, Velo Village, Start/Finish Events), marketing, media relations, volunteers and local sponsorship,” he said.

Volunteer Subcommittee members under the direction of Jessica Burr included:  Arnie Anderson, Cindy Bulloch, Sadie Egbert, Amie Tukuafu, Tom Chaplin, Jennifer Leard, Nick Bartlett, Deniece Allred, Kaitlin Sorensen, Katie Evans, Kenzie Lundberg, and Jackie Grant.

The Public Safety subcommittee consisted of members from several law enforcement agencies: Darin Adams, Jimmy Roden, Jerry Womack, Keith Millett and Roland Gow from the Cedar City Police Department; Josh Neilson of SUU Police Department; Del Schlosser from the Iron County Sheriff’s Office; Dan Benson of Brian Head Police Department, Jackson Ames of the Enoch Police Department and Mike Phillips of the Cedar City Fire Department.

The SUU Engagement subcommittee members were Chris Ralphs, Jessica Farling, Michael Bahr, Donn Jersey, Ralph Savage, Josh Hart, Dan McClanahan, Chris Gale, and Jerry Carpenter.

Ryan Marshall, Jeff Hunter, Dusty Kaminska and Corey Childs from the Cedar City Public Works Department also contributed to the event.

Special Projects volunteers included Deniece Allred Yvonne Simonds and Jennie Hendricks, Julia Stolworthy, and Laurie Vincent.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.